top of page
Sugar Land OBGYN - Dr. Niraj Patel

Dr. Niraj C. Patel, MD, F.A.C.O.G

Dr. Niraj C. Patel MD is an Obstetrics & Gynecology Specialist in Sugar Land, TX and has over 28 years of experience in the medical field. He graduated from University of Texas Health Science Center in 1995. He is affiliated with Houston Methodist Sugar Land Hospital. His office accepts new patients and telehealth appointments.

Dr. Patel is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology (Jan. 2002).

4 Stars
HealthGrades Logo


University of Texas at Houston- Hermann Hospital Program
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences
Houston, Texas 
Internship: July 1, 1995-June 30, 1996
Residency: July 1, 1996-June 30, 1999

University of Texas Health Science Center At San Antonio (UTHSCSA)

San Antonio, Texas
August 1991-May 1995
Doctorate Of Medicine

University of Texas at Austin

Austin, Texas 
September 1987 - April 1991
Bachelors of Science in Biology


  • Board Certified in Obstetrics & Gynecology/Fellow of ABOG January 11, 2002

  • Texas State Board of Medical Examiners

  • DEA Registration


  • State of Texas Medical License (May 1995)


  • Sugar Land OB/GYN LLP (June 1998-Present)

  • With privileges at Methodist Sugar Land Hospital and Memorial Hermann Sugar Land


  • A Phase 3 Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Elagolix in Combination with Estradiol/Norethindrone Acetate for the Management of Heavy Menstrual Bleeding Associated with Uterine Fibroids in Premenopausal Women” at Houston Center for Clinical Research. 2016-2017

  • Effects of Betamethasone on the 3-Hour GTT Niraj Patel, M.D./ Joan Mastrobattista M.D At The University of Texas at Houston 1997.

  • Retrospective Study of conization: LEEP versus Cold Knife Conization under Dr Bruce Fine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio 1994.

  • Investigation of the carcinogenic properties of Coumarins under Dr. John DiGiovanni At M.D. Anderson Cancer Research Center, Smithville, Texas 1990(Summer).

  • Investigation of the molecular properties of Calmodulin under Dr. Jim Skipper at the Department of Cellular Biology, University of Texas at Austin 1990(Spring).

Honors & Awards

  • Physician of The Year 2008- Methodist Hospital Sugar Land- OB GYN Department

  • Best Educator 2005- Memorial Hermann Fort Bend Hospital

  • Administrative Chief Resident 1998-1999

  • Outstanding Resident Teaching Award 1997-1998


  • 2017 March of Dimes Steering Committee/ Methodist

  • 2001-2002: Chairman of The OB/GYN Department at Memorial Hermann Fort Bend Hospital.

  • 1996-1999: Resident Selection Committee

  • 1993: Neuroscience teaching Assistant for first year medical students at UTHSCSA.

  • 1990-1991: Chairman of Natural Sciences Council at the University of Texas at Austin.

  • 1990-1992: President of ISA at Austin

  • 1990-1991: Chemistry teaching assistant and lab assistant at University of Texas at Austin.


  • Fellow-American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

  • Harris County Medical Society

  • Texas Medical Association

  • American Medical Association


  • English

  • Gujarati

bottom of page